You can sit on the Node Foundation Board of Directors

You, as a registered member of the Node Foundation can run for the Individual membership director’s seat. That’s the good news, the bad news is if you wanted to do that now you’d be a bit disappointed as the nomination process closed on January 15th. There is always next year, as elections are held annually, so let’s get ahead of ourselves and explain the process and steps you need to take if you want to sit on the Node Foundation Board.

The Board of Directors is composed of 12 people, 9 representatives of corporate members, 1 representative of the Technical Steering Committee and 2 individual membership representatives, Feross Aboukhadijeh and Ashley Williams. The former’s seat is up for election. The term length for the individual membership representative is 2 years (they changed the rules this time –  Feross Aboukhadijeh  had a one year term – so that they can have a yearly election), but elections are held each year for one of the seats. This year’s election results will be announced by January 30th.

You can nominate yourself for this position, but first you need to be a registered member of the Foundation.

What are individual members and how can you be one

Individual members are contributors to the Node project, if you are part of any working group or subproject you get free membership. If you’re not a contributor you can become an individual member by paying a yearly $100 fee (as a student you get a 75% discount).

What does a individual membership director do?

As a individual membership director you have to attend board meetings, the Board meets every month, to discuss and approve resolutions regarding the Node Foundation. Several of these meeting take place in person so you need to take that into account as well. However, if needed, the board cover cost for travel and accommodations.

Your responsibility as an Individual Membership Director involves representing the community as a whole. Just like in any other democratic process they voted for you to represent their interest in the board.

Who elects the Individual Membership Director?

The community. Every registered member can cast a vote for the candidate she/he feels will represent the community best.

The current Board of Directors consists of:

  • Chairperson: Danese Cooper, distinguished member of technical staff – open source at PayPal.

  • Vice-Chairperson: Scott Hammond, chief executive officer at Joyent.

  • Secretary: Dan Shaw, chief technology officer at NodeSource.

  • TSC Director: Rod Vagg, chief node officer at NodeSource.

  • Silver-level Director: Brian McCallister, chief technology officer of platforms at Groupon.

  • Silver-level Director: Justin Beckwith, product manager at Google.

  • Director: Todd Moore, vice president of open technology at IBM.

  • Director: Colleen Evans, principal program manager at Microsoft.

  • Director: Rich Sharples, senior director of product management at Red Hat.

  • Director: Imad Sousou, vice president and general manager at Intel.

  • Director: Ashley Williams, individual membership director.

  • Director: Feross Aboukhadijeh, individual membership director.


On January 30th there will be a new member of the board, replacing  Feross Aboukhadijeh. Next year, Ashley Williams’s seat will be up for election, she can run again of course, but so can you. You should also note that in order to get elected you will have to “campaign” and show that you have the drive and experience for this position. Basically you have to show that you are a good candidate. Have a look at last year’s submissions by Feross Aboukhadijeh and Ashley Williams.